Best Mobility Certifications For 2016

01/08/2016 - 12:27

Mobile technologies have been experiencing unprecedented growth and evolution, with no slowdown in sight. Mobility is truly taking IT by storm, forcing management to rethink everything from big-picture infrastructure design to the details of integration among wired and wireless networks. And of course, mobile certifications are following suit.

CCNP Wireless: Cisco Certified Network Professional Wireless

The CCNP Wireless credential is designed for support and network engineers who plan, install and troubleshoot wireless local area networks (WLANs) that incorporate Cisco equipment. Because mobile technologies often overlap with wireless networking, Cisco rolled a hefty dose of mobility topics into its CCNP Wireless certification.

Of the four exams required for this credential, the 642-747 Implementing Cisco Unified Wireless Mobility Services (IUWMS) focuses on integrating mobility services with WLANs. The exam covers designing and deploying WLAN infrastructures for mobility, implementing the Cisco Mobility Services Engine (MSE) architecture, and implementing and managing location-based services, indoor enterprise mesh networks and advanced services for Cisco WCS and Navigator. The CCNP Wireless is valid for three years. To maintain the credential, certification holders must pass any current professional-level exam (642 or 300 level series exams), any CCIE written exam, CCDE written or practical exam or CCAr interview and board review. 


CCP-M: Citrix Certified Professional – Mobility

The Citrix certification program offers a handful of solutions-based credentials for apps and desktops, networking and mobility.

The company revamped its certification program in 2013 and introduced the Citrix Certified Professional -- Mobility (CCP-M), which recognizes mobile designers and developers who design, install, configure and manage a Citrix XenMobile Enterprise solution. The credential addresses the unique nature of bring your own device (BYOD) issues, along with mobile device and application management, security and IT compliance requirements.

Once the Mobility certification is achieved it remains valid for three years, and requires credential holders to pass the latest exam to recertify.


AW EM: AirWatch Enterprise Mobility Expert

AirWatch, a VMware company, specializes in enterprise mobility management. The AirWatch solution supports many different mobile platforms and operating systems, as well as multiple devices, email platforms, applications and browser management products.

The AirWatch Academy helps users learn how to implement, install, configure, deploy, manage and support AirWatch solutions. The AirWatch Academy Accreditation Program offers Associate, Professional and Expert certifications, and has certified over 4,500 individuals as of November 2015. Each level builds on the previous level, creating a classic certification ladder:

  • Associate level: AirWatch Enterprise Mobility: Configure and Manage
  • Professional level: AirWatch Enterprise Mobility: Configure and Deploy Integrated Solutions
  • Expert level: AirWatch Enterprise Mobility: Install and Deploy On Premise Solutions

To achieve each certification, you must take the associated course.


VCP6-DTM: VMware Certified Professional 6 - Desktop & Mobility

VMware tackles mobility with virtual desktop infrastructures and a host of technologies that enable administrators to support mobile users through virtualization.

The VMware Certified Professional 6 - Desktop and Mobility (VCP6-DTM) certification identifies individuals who can deploy and configure Horizon with View in a vSphere virtualized data center, as well as use View and other technologies to implement and manage virtual desktops and applications.

The VCP6-DTM is a relatively new VMware certification. Because the company is constantly improving and updating its certification program, keep your eye on the VMware Certification Roadmap to see if additional mobility certs pop up in the near future.


CompTIA Mobility+

CompTIA's certifications are highly respected and often serve as prerequisites for other certification programs.

Mobility+ is geared toward mobility architects and engineers, network administrators and security professionals who implement and/or work in mobile computing environments. A single exam covers over-the-air technologies (Wi-Fi, cellular, Bluetooth, and RF), network infrastructure, mobile device management, security and troubleshooting. Like the A+ and Network+ certs, Mobility+ requires candidates to cultivate broad knowledge of many subtopics. That means building knowledge of and skills in protocols, the OSI model, policies, bandwidth and quality of service, antennas, propagation theory, device interoperability, lifecycles, testing, encryption, security mitigation strategies and more.

Think of Mobility+ as a foundational credential that can be used to move up to higher level certs in just about any type of networking field, with a sound grasp of mobile networking best practices and troubleshooting techniques.

The Mobility+ certification is valid for three years. Credential holders can keep their skills current and maintain certification through continuing education without having to retake the current exam.



Tin liên quan